WPT Cambodia side event highlights Day 10/11: Hyeonsik Yun scores second trophy; five first time WPT winners


More trophies have left the awards table with six players emerging triumphant at World Poker Tour (WPT) Cambodia these past two days. Most impressive was Korea’s Hyeonsik Yun, closing out the Mini HR Hyper Turbo for his second series win. Yun is the second player to achieve this, following fellow countryman Seongho Cho.

Also outshining were first time WPT champions Thanh Minh Truong, Quan Qiu, Robert Sherwood, Shivam Shukla, and rising Philippine player Justin Geronimo. Check out the highlights below.

WPT Cambodia – News Coverage and Results
WPT Cambodia – Player Guide
WPT Cambodia – Photos

Marc Rivera

With 30 events completed, the Player of the Festival race is heating up and wide open for anyone to steal. Current race-leader is Philippine’s Marc Rivera with 965 points, it is a tie for 2nd with South Africa’s Marc Joseph and Korea’s Hyeonsik Yun at 900 points each. Hong Kong’s Ivan Hon Cheong Lee is ranked fourth and can easily overtake.

WPT Cambodia – Player of the Festival standings

HYEONSIK YUN wins Mini HR Hyper Turbo for second WPT Cambodia title

mini high roller hyper turbo champion 1

Korea is on a roll at the festival as another player secures a second win. The first to do so was Seongho Cho, followed by Hyeonsik Yun at the Mini HR Hyper Turbo. Yun topped the 49-entry field for a payout deal of USD 22,700. Days prior, he championed the 8 Max Survivor 2K Bounty to deny South Africa’s Marc Joseph the title. With this win, Yun is now ranked second in the Player of the Festival race with 900 points. In cash, he has accumulated USD 64,418 in winnings.

Date: January 26,2024
Entries: 49 (40 unique)
Prize pool: USD 87,931
ITM: 8 places

*Three-way deal, played for $3,700 and the trophy

Place Player Flag
Payout in USD
1 Hyeonsik Yun Korea $22,700*
2 Erick Alex Goni Marcos Peru $19,000*
3 Allen Aidino Nielsen Denmark $19,000*
4 Ceesvin Abraham Abdulla Singapore $8,872
5 Antonius Franciscus Krijn Netherlands $6,426
6 Vamerdino Abad Magsakay Philippines $4,865
7 Hongru Zhang China $3,858
8 Caspar Bo Neergaard Jensen Denmark $3,210

Five players capture maiden titles

Since kickoff, the festival has awarded quite a number of first time WPT winners and added five more to that count with  Quan Qiu, Thanh Minh Truong, Robert Sherwood, Shivam Shukla, and Justin Geronimo locking up wins.

shootout champion 1
Quan Qiu

At the Shootout, China’s Quan Qiu cleaned out two tables to claim the win. This was his  third trophy in as many months. In November 2023, Qiu won the Mini High Roller at USOP Da Nang for his career first win. He then followed it up with a victory in December at the Asian Poker Festiva’ls Deepstack Turbo event. Now at the WPT, another win. Along with the merch, Qiu turned his USD 230 buy in into a sizable payout of USD 6,166.

Date: January 26, 2024
Buy in: USD 300
Entries: 72
Prize pool: USD 18,857
ITM: 8 places

Place Player Flag
Payout in USD
1 Quan Qiu China $6,166
2 Bihari Michael Adam Hungary $4,111
3 Dicky Siu Hang Tsang China $2,740
4 Pyeonggyu Jin Korea, Republic Of $1,903
5 Lars Hougaard Denmark $1,378
6 Byoung Nam Kim Korea, Republic Of $1,043
7 John Tech Philippines $827
8 Steven Zhou Australia $689
plo bounty champion 1 1
Thang Minh Truong

Thanh Minh Truong closed out the Turbo PLO Bounty to win the USD 3,299 top prize and his first ever WPT trophy. In addition, the new champion collected 13 bounties to pad up his winnings an extra USD 1,300 for a total payout of USD 4,599. Truong defeated Viet Nam rising player Khoi Nguyen at heads up. Nguyen has been hot on the hunt for a win having been known to capture multiple trophies on home turf in recent festivals. Nguyen earned USD 2,041 for his finish.

Date: January 25, 2024
Buy in: USD 230
Entries: 119 (85 unique)
Prize pool: USD 11,186
Bounty pool: USD 11,900
ITM: 15 places

Final table payouts

Place Player Flag
Payout in USD
1 Thang Minh Truong Australia $3,299
2 Nguyen Khoi Viet Nam $2,041
3 Matthias Johann Steck Germany $1,219
4 Ari Marlon Kumpumaki ‘Finland $783
5 Chun Chung Chan Hong Kong $593
6 Larry Po Yuen Ng Canada $492
7 Yusuke Moriyama Japan $425
8 Hayato Kitajima Japan $375
9 Yongyan Wang Wu China $330

Thrilling finish at the Deepstack Freezeout with Victor Chong and Justin Geronimo opting to split the cash down the middle then play one hand of Crazy Pineapple for the trophy. Geronimo emerged the luckiest and celebrated the win with a massive rail.

deepstack freezeout champion 2

Date: January 25, 2024
Buy in: USD 400
Players: 99
Prize poo: USD 34,571
ITM: 13 places

Final table payouts

Place Player Flag Payout in USD
1 Justin Geronimo Philippines $8,513
2 Victor Fook Kiong Chong Malaysia $8,513
3 David Erquiaga Philippines $3,976
4 Deok-Yeong Lee Korea, Republic Of $2,593
5 Markus Albisser Switzerland $2,022
6 Amir Abbas Australia $1,616
Martin Zheng Wei Ng
Singapore $1,374
8 Sunho Lee Korea $1,193
9 Zhongzhou Zheng China $1,054

superstack turbo bubble 2

Australia’s Amir Abbas delivered the bubble at the Superstack Turbo and was on his way to rein in the title but was stopped by UK’s Robert Sherwood at heads up. Sherwood outlasted the 89 entry field to pocket the USD 13,694 top prize. Philippine Marc Rivera finished 10th to earn more points towards the POF race. He is currently race leader.

superstack turbo champion 2

Date: January 26, 2024
Buy in: USD 550
Entries: 89 (80 unique)
Prize pool: USD 43,165
ITM: 12 places

Place Player Flag
Payout in USD
1 Robert Andrew Sherwood United Kingdom $13,694
2 Amir Abbas Australia $8,201
3 Pau Sanroma Igesias Cambodia $5,180
4 Lukas Rutkauskas Lithuania $3,345
5 Huu Dung Nguyen Viet Nam $2,590
6 Cheng Zhang China $2,050
7 Jonathan Meshumar Israel $1,727
8 Amit Kaushik India $1,511
9 Maulik Bharatkumar Shukla India $1,370
10 Marc Rivera Philippines $1,252
11 Yankai Zhang China $1,165
12 Nang Quang Nguyen Viet Nam $1,080
plo turbo champion 1
Shivam Shukla

Career first live tournament win for Shivam Shukla at the PLO Hyper Turbo. Shukla outlasted the 55 entry field to bring India its second trophy of the festival. In addition, he turned his $200 buy in into a sweet payout of USD 3,455. Based on his Hendon Mob stats, Shukla is only getting started in the Asian live scene and is well on his way to a good year with final table cashes in Hanoi and an early win here in Cambodia.

Date: January 26, 2024
Buy in: USD 200
Entries: 55 (49 unique)
Prize pool: USD 9,336
ITM: 7 places

Place Player Flag
Payout in USD
1 Shivam Shukla India $3,455
2 Aike Ing Myanmar $2,054
3 Peter John Dupre Australia $1,260
4 Yusuke Moriyama Japan $887
5 Thang Minh Truong Australia $700
6 Yusuke Uchimura Japan $560
7 Rundulf Martin Gonzales Philippines $420

Softest fields at WPT Global!

wpt global 3

Want to play the softest fields online? WPT Global is it! This is  one of the fastest growing rooms, has soft fields, and offers action in every limit.

Read our WPT Global review or click here to register.

Please contact us for any questions.

Avatar photo

Tricia David

Tricia David has long experience as a recreational poker player and has been covering poker events since 2010 for numerous outfits in Asia. She spent one year working part time with Poker Portal Asia then became editor and lead writer for all event coverage of the Philippine Poker Tour (PPT). Under the PPT, she overlooked content for their website, and produced live updates on all their events. In addition, she served as the live and online events website content writer for the Asian Poker Tour. Currently, she does live events reporting in Asia for online news site Somuchpoker and is also one of their news contributors.

More Posts

Follow Me:
Special EmailTwitterFacebookFlickrYouTube