APL Manila: Mini Main Event draws 191 entries, William Teoh bags a monster stack

actionapl 2

While the Ace Poker League (APL) Manila Main Event was hunting down its final 9 players, running alongside was the Mini Main Event featuring a PHP 3 Million guarantee. Across two flights, 191 turned up to boost the pot to a richer PHP 3,520,130 (~$63,435). Only 29 advanced to the final day led by Malaysia’s William Teoh with a monstrous 214 bb stack, that’s more than double his nearest challenger. With this massive artillery, Teoh has the best chance of walking away with the title and pocketing the PHP 758,430 (~$13,665) top prize. 

William Teoh

Teoh’s rise began at 4 players to ITM when he spiked the gutshot against Seokho Lee. Hand opens with a min-raise of 6,000 by Lee, hijack Teoh three-bets 16,000, then proceeds to bet every street 30,000, 55,000, and all in on the river 5s2h8cKh4s. Lee calls him down and shows Js8s, Teoh with 3d6d straight.

Teoh pumped in more chips by booting Yan Tang with QcQs all in on a flop 6c5d4d winning the race against AhKc. The turn was 7s and river Jc. Flight A ended with Junne Pamplona (pictured above} AcJc dominating McEdwin Montanes Ah8c to pop the bubble.


Over at Flight B, Belov Sviatoslav closed the day as chip leader after first cleaning out Alex Taneo by cracking KhKc with 2h2s straight on a board 5c4c3dAcQh then did the same to Joseph Talamayan on the bubble with 10s10h over Ad4d on a board 8c3s5d9sJd.

The Mini Main Event title-chase begins at 12pm on Sunday, December 3, 2023 at 2Ace Poker Manila in Manila, Philippines.

Buy in: PHP 20,000 (~$360)
Guarantee: PHP 3,000,000 (~$54,060)
Entries: 191
Prize pool: PHP 3,520,130 (~$63,435)
ITM: 29 players

End of Day 1  – 29 players

William Teoh 856,000
Belov Sviatoslav 419,000
Jonald Garcia 332,000
Sandy Cea 324,000
Choi Dongwoo 323,000
Kim Younghyun 283,000
Christopher Mateo 275,000
Raymundo Gomez 254,000
Ryan Jerico Platon 252,000
Junnie Pamplona 209,000
Sean Kristoffer Manalon 203,000
Yu Hyunmook 197,000
Marvin Cerbito 191,000
Orly Dequina 190,000
Michael Bueza 166,000
Noh Eundong 148,000
Chierro De Leon 137,000
Park Jong Chul 128,000
Renniel Galvez 119,000
Chogo Kento 112,000
Diana Tan 111,000
Elmer Kalaquian 85,000
Chang Chia Wei 83,000
Yburan Alejevel 82,000
Yang Zhixin 78,000
Luke Pangan 67,000
Lee Gibaek 51,000
Matsuda Michihiko 44,000
Jose Ruzzel 33,000


1 758,430
2 510,100
3 359,700
4 291,600
5 230,700
6 175,200
7 127,900
8 93,500
9 77,400
10-11 65,600
12-13 58,400
14-15 53,000
16-17 47,600
18-20 42,300
21-23 38,700
24-27 35,100
28-29 31,500
Avatar photo

Tricia David

Tricia David has long experience as a recreational poker player and has been covering poker events since 2010 for numerous outfits in Asia. She spent one year working part time with Poker Portal Asia then became editor and lead writer for all event coverage of the Philippine Poker Tour (PPT). Under the PPT, she overlooked content for their website, and produced live updates on all their events. In addition, she served as the live and online events website content writer for the Asian Poker Tour. Currently, she does live events reporting in Asia for online news site Somuchpoker and is also one of their news contributors.

More Posts

Follow Me:
Special EmailTwitterFacebookFlickrYouTube