ACOP Platinum Series XII: Jack Wu wins the Main Event, Saehoon Lee the 10K Event

The ACOP Platinum Series has been illuminating the Asian poker calendar during the last week, attracting many of the best regulars from the Asian circuit. While there have been plenty of side events going on, much of the focus has been on the HK$5,500 Main Event, and the HK$10,000 High Roller event.

Main Event:  Jack En-Ching Wu for the win

The Main Event ran between March 25th and 26th, and commanded an entry fee of HK$5,500. The prize pool was guaranteed at $500,000 but with 241 entries, this figure was easily surpassed, and the final prize pool figure swelled to HK$1,087,030 ($140,112). The tournament saw several notable names make deep runs, including “Sparrow” Cheung (24th) Bryan Huang (19th) and Alex Xiang Wei Lee, who eventually fell in 5th. Ultimately, the day belonged to Jack En-Ching Wu from Taiwan, who bested the field to take the title, and HK$260,850 ($33,622) in prize money.


Jack En- Ching Wu (Photo PokerStars)

HK$10,000 Event: Saehoon Lee  claims the title

For those that did not make a deep run in the Main Event, the HK$10K event still held some hope, and 73 players stumped up the fee and took to the felt. The prize pool grew to a healthy HK$637,290 ($82,143) with the final 7 players all being paid. Three players represented China at the final table, but it was left to an Australian and Korean to fight it out heads up for the title. Australian Phachara Wongwichit would eventually take runner up spot for HK$133,830 ($17,250) while Korean Saehoon Lee took home 1st place money, totalling HK$210,310 ($27,107).

ACOP high rOller

Saehoon Lee (Photo PokerStars)

In news from the side events, China's Xixiang Luo takes victory in the Megastack Event, claiming the 1st place prize money of HK$116,530 ($15,020). Australia's Geoffrey Laurence was also triumphant, navigating his way through the field to win the Superstack event.

The Asia Player of the Year race 

The Asia Player of the Year race is also heating up, with another event crossed off. Main Event champion Jack En-Ching Wu has vaulted up into 8th place, with three final tables so far, and two wins. Up at the top, China dominates proceedings, covering 1st, 2nd and 3rd spot. Alvan Yifan Zheng currently sits in 3rd with 2,820 points, closing in on Wayne Wei Yi Zhang who currently has 2,918. Way out in front though, is Quan Zhou, who has four final tables to his name, and 4,050 points.

Asia Player of the Year 2016

Player Location Points
Winnings (HKD)
等級 姓名 地區 積分
1 Quan Zhou China 4,050
2 Wayne Wei Yi Zhang China 2,918
3 Alvan Yifan Zheng China 2,820
4 Benny Tsz Leung Lai Hong Kong 2,531
5 Ying Lin Chua Malaysia 2,400
6 Takashi Ogura Japan 2,400
7 Wenhai Xu Macau 2,319
8 Jack En-ching Wu
Chinese Taipei
9 Yuan-kai Hsu
Chinese Taipei
10 Xixiang Luo China 2,130




Avatar photo

Louis Hartwell

Graduated in Media Communication at the University of Lausanne, Louis Hartman is a co-founder of He began his career in Cambodia as freelance journalist. In same time he was making his living by playing poker every night at that time. Intense learner, he read dozens of poker strategy books to improve his skills during many years. With a strong interest about poker "behind the scene" in Asia and his communication skills, Louis launched Somuchpoker in 2014.

More Posts

Follow Me:
Special EmailTwitterFacebookFlickrYouTube