APPT Cambodia: APPT National prize pool surges over $200K; 78 players to hunt down final table seat; Yao Yao wins a spade

In partnership with Connaissance Management, the fourth day of the Asia Pacific Poker Tour (APT) Cambodia saw a significant increase in participants, as the APPT National event attracted many new arrivals to the felt. Among the players were Le Ngoc Khanh, Hua Wei Lin, and Natural8’s Victor Chong all of whom reached the final table last year. Also in the crowd were defending Main Event champion Alex Puchalski, India’s Abhinav Iyer, Shardul Parthasarathi, Ashish Munot, Australia’s Dylan Wayne, John Perry, and China’s Yunsheng Sun.

52881182195 04e4839a6b c
Hua Wei Lin
52881183455 4b5e917779 c
Abhinav Iyer and Dylan Wayne
52880483723 70ee153d96 c
Le Ngoc Khanh
Yunsheng Sun

Within the first hour, the guaranteed prize pool of US$ 100,000 was breached, and by the end of the day’s final two flights, 240 entries were added to the initial 74 Day 1A entries, bringing the total prize pool to an impressive US$ 219,298.

During Day 1B, numerous players fought for the chip lead, but in the end, a newcomer from England, Paul King, emerged as heat leader. King’s AhJs both paired up, allowing him to win a pot against a player with AdQc. This victory resulted in King bagging 279,000 chips, putting him fourth overall in the Day 2 lineup.

Paul King

The last flight was a turbo format with 81 finding their way to the races. Last year’s fourth placer, Canada’s Eric Wasylenko, railed Indonesia’s Anton Widjaya with 10h8h outdrawing Ah7h on a board of 4h3s5h8c3c to earn the top spot with 272,000 in chips. This put him 5th overall in the Day 2 lineup.

Eric Wasylenko

Buy in: US$ 800
Guarantee: US$ 100,000
Entries: 314
Prize pool: US$ 219,298

Starting stack: 30,000
Chips in play: 9,420,000
Average stack: 120,769

Top 9 in chips

Rank Player Flag Stack BB
1 Minwoo Kang Korea 451,000 150
2 Choi Hun Tae Korea 322,500 108
3 Cheng Zhang China 305,500 102
4 Paul King England 279,000 93
5 Eric Wasylenko Canada 272,000 91
6 Liu Yuhan (Hans) China 271,500 91
7 Xiaosheng Zheng China 264,000 88
8 Adam Smith UK 250,000 83
9 Vincent Ferrafiat France 243,500 81

You can find the complete list of Day 2 qualifiers in the SMP Live Updates. Just follow the link provided below. The payout breakdown will also be posted as soon as it has been made available.

When the players return to host venue NagaWorld Integrated Resorts on Tuesday, May 9 at 1pm, they will chase down a spot at the final table. Random updates will be provided throughout the day.


Yao Yao wins the PLO KO Bounty Turbo

Yao Yao

Another PokerStars spade left the awards table with China’s Yao Yao closing out the PLO KO Bounty Turbo. Yao bested the 70-entry field, claiming 13 bounties in total, to pocket a combined US$ 4,614.

Buy in: US$ 300
Entries: 70
Prize pool: US$ 11,333
ITM: 10 places

* Bounties not included

Place Player
Payout In USD
1 Yao Yao $3,314
2 Cheng Bei Li $2,380
4 Konstantin Generalov $1,547
5 Armon Van Wijk $1,167
6 Tom Maguire $907
7 Yoke Woon $703
8 Chun Chan $555
9 Jani Malmivara $431
10 Lars Hougaard $329
Avatar photo

Tricia David

Tricia David has long experience as a recreational poker player and has been covering poker events since 2010 for numerous outfits in Asia. She spent one year working part time with Poker Portal Asia then became editor and lead writer for all event coverage of the Philippine Poker Tour (PPT). Under the PPT, she overlooked content for their website, and produced live updates on all their events. In addition, she served as the live and online events website content writer for the Asian Poker Tour. Currently, she does live events reporting in Asia for online news site Somuchpoker and is also one of their news contributors.

More Posts

Follow Me:
Special EmailTwitterFacebookFlickrYouTube