Poker Dream Manila: Wai Keong Yong tops Main Event Day 1A; Jinlong Hu,Wei Hsiang Yeu, Wooseok Kim, Darren Yu win trophies

52869811825 c47f8e2e7a c

Things are heating up at Poker Dream Manila with the Main Event drawing in players for a shot at the PHP 20,000,000 guarantee. Among the 141 Day 1A attendees were notables Marc Rivera, Ngoc Anh Cao, Florencio Campomanes, Seungsoo Jeon, Sang Nguyen, Moses Saquing, Sriharsha Doddapaneni, and Poker Dream founder Winfred Yu.

Wai Keong Yong
Wai Keong Yong

After a lengthy thirteen hours of play, only 22 advanced to Day 2 with Malaysia’s Wai Keong Yong bagging the chip lead of 421,000 (53 bb). Another highlight of the day was the Lucky Draw that saw Ewe Eng Soon win his Main Event entry buy in back.

More action ahead as Day 1B takes the floor on Friday, May 5, 2023 at Newport World Resorts. Cards in the air at 1pm. Registration closes at 8:20pm. This is followed by the last flight, Day 1C Turbo which kicks off at 8pm. Registration closes at 11:30pm.

You can read up on the Day 1A action and today’s Day 1B and Day 1C via the Live Updates on Somuchpoker.

Poker Dream – ePlayer Guide

Event winners

Jinlong Hu wins the Mystery Bounty for PHP 900,000

The past two days has also seen four players walk away with Poker Dream trophies. China’s Jinlong Hu shipped the Mystery Bounty for a payout of PHP 900,000. That’s not including the five bounties he won amounting to over PHP 600K. Hu defeated fellow countryman Chuning Tan at heads up. You can read up on the action via the SMP Live Updates.

Poker Dream 163 1
Jinlong Hu

Buy in: PH₱ 36, 000 (~US$ 36,000)
Guarantee: PH₱ 5,000,000 (~US$ 90,240)
Total entries: 267
Prize pool: PH₱ 5,187,276 (~US$ 93,620)
Bounty pool: PH₱ 3,204,000 (~US$ 57,825)
ITM: 41 players

Final table payouts

Place Player Flag
Payouts in PH₱
1 Jinlong Hu China 900,000
2 Chuning Tan China 810,000
3 Edgar Asehan Jr. Philippines 496,000
4 Hiromasa Teraoka Japan 399,076
5 Vamerdino Magsakay Philippines 312,100
6 Bell John Perez Philippines 234,800
7 Tian Yu Lee Taiwan 171,000
8 Jason Kyle Magbanua Philippines 124,300
9 Masashi Yoshikawa Japan 105,000

*Heads up deal, play for trophy and PH₱ 100K

Wei Hsiang Yeu wins the Single Day High Roller

Poker Dream 49
Wei Hsiang Yeu

Buy in: PH₱ 200,000 (~US$ 2,670) 
Entries: 44
Prize pool: PH₱ 7,853,120 (~US$ 141,730)
ITM: 6 places

Place Player Flag
Payouts in PH₱
1 Wei Hsiang Yeu Malaysia 2,670,000
2 Wai Keong Yong Malaysia 1,845,000
3 William Jia Australia 1,177,120
4 Rolands Norietis Latvia 904,000
5 Sang Van Nguyen Vietnam 707,000
6 Valeriy Pak Uzbekistan 550,000

Chip leader Wooseok Kim awarded the NLH/PLO title

Poker Dream 1 4
Wooseok Kim

Buy in: PH₱ 30,000 (~US$ 550)
Entries: 31
Prize pool: PH₱ 811,890 (~US$ 14,650)
ITM: 5 places

*Heads up deal, trophy awarded to the chip leader

Place Player Flag
Payouts in PH₱
1 Wooseok Kim Korea 267,300*
2 Jun Takada Japan 240,000*
3 Marvin Sumendap Indonesia 132,000
4 Keita Takashima Japan 95,390
5 Enrico De Rosa Italy 77,200

Darren Yu takes down the Mystery Bounty Turbo

Poker Dream 1 5
Darren Yu

Buy in: PH₱ 15,000 (~US$ 275
Entries: 77
Prize pool: PH₱ 600,908 (~US$ 10,845)
Bounty pool: PH₱ 385,000 (~US$ 6,950)
ITM: 11 places

*Bounties not included

Place Player Flag
Payouts in PH₱
1 Darren Yu Philippines 165,300
2 Raymundo Gomez Jr Philippines 116,908
3 Richard Marquez Philippines 77,000
4 Harun Mzb Brunei 59,200
5 Yuki Tsumura Japan 46,900
6 Shun Kawakami Japan 36,700
7 Linh Dieu Phuong Nguyen Vietnam 28,900
8 Yuta Onishi Japan 22,600
9 Sum Lih Jian Malaysia 17,200
10 Tung Duy Nguyen Vietnam 15,100
11 Edwin Dela Cruz Philippines 15,100
Avatar photo

Tricia David

Tricia David has long experience as a recreational poker player and has been covering poker events since 2010 for numerous outfits in Asia. She spent one year working part time with Poker Portal Asia then became editor and lead writer for all event coverage of the Philippine Poker Tour (PPT). Under the PPT, she overlooked content for their website, and produced live updates on all their events. In addition, she served as the live and online events website content writer for the Asian Poker Tour. Currently, she does live events reporting in Asia for online news site Somuchpoker and is also one of their news contributors.

More Posts

Follow Me:
Special EmailTwitterFacebookFlickrYouTube