Aussie Millions: Robert Raymond wins the opening event

The Aussie Millions had once again begun with great festivities and a blast but this time without the PokerStars brand. It runs from January 11-30, 2017 at the Crown.

1,565 entries in the opening event

 The prestigious festival which has recently ended their partnership with PokerStars due to changes in its live tournament offerings, kicked off with a very successful first event which saw itself a champion in Robert Raymond who took down the tournament for AUD$320,830.

Robert Raymond (Photo Crown)

Raymond from Melbourne outlasted a total field of 1,565 entries as compared to last year’s turnout of 1,320.  The first event had a buy-in of AUD$1,150 and reached a prize pool of AUD$1,604,125 with 153 players making it in the money.

Alexander Lynskey, who placed 4th in the 2016 APPT Aussie Millions Main Event, placed 4th in this event for AUD$85,180.

Place Player Prize
1 Robert Raymond AUD$320,830
2 Qiang Fu AUD$198,115
3 Michael Addamo AUD$117,910
4 Alexander Lynskey AUD$85,180
5 Manis Loeser AUD$57,750
6 Jack Efaraimo AUD$41,705
7 Samir Khoueis AUD$35,290

James Chen wins HORSE Event

James Chen from Taiwan won the Event #2: $2,500 H.O.R.S.E.  taking home the very first  ring for the series and AUD$39,700.

Chen who won the Asian Pacific Poker Tour (APPT) 10 Macau Poker Cup (MPC) last year was the last man standing in a field of 49 players.  The participation for this event has increased by 26% as compared to last year’s 39 players.

Place Player Prize
1 James Chen A$39,700
2 Rainer Quel A$25,355
3 Richard Ashby A$16,535
4 Jarryd Godena A$12,125
5 Jarrett Bullock A$8,825
6 Dylan Honeyman A$7,710

Austrian poker Celebrity Thomas Mühlöcker wins Event#3

Thomas Mühlöcker (Photo Crown)

Thomas Mühlöcker who is #1 in the All Time Money List for Austria is victorious in the Aussie Millions’  Event#3 AUD$1,150 Shot Clock Shootout.  Shot Clock format is fast paced giving players only 30 seconds to make a decision during their turns.

Mühlöcker won the field of 153 runners which was more than last year’s 126 players.  He added AUD$40,125 to his live earnings for his efforts in this tournament.

Place Player Prize
1 Thomas Muhlocker AUD$40,125
2 Henry Szmelcer AUD$26,775
3 Dejan Boskovic AUD$17,365
4 Shoshiro Karita AUD$13,445
5 Preben Stokkan AUD$11,090
6 Ryan Van Sanford AUD$9,130
7 Ari Engel AUD$7,565

Article by Gabrielle Barredo


Louis Hartwell

Graduated in Media Communication at the University of Lausanne, Louis Hartman is a co-founder of He began his career in Cambodia as freelance journalist. In same time he was making his living by playing poker every night at that time. Intense learner, he read dozens of poker strategy books to improve his skills during many years. With a strong interest about poker "behind the scene" in Asia and his communication skills, Louis launched Somuchpoker in 2014.

More Posts

Follow Me:
Special EmailTwitterFacebookFlickrYouTube