Inaugural APPT Cambodia 2022 Main Event champion to be crowned today, Taiwan’s Yu Chung Chang leads the pack


DSC 8023

Yesterday’s intense race saw 75 players return to the Grand Ballroom of NagaWorld Phnom Penh for Day 2 of the Main Event, each one hoping for a piece of the  bloated $494,991 pot and a seat to the finals. After nine hours of play, the chase ended with all the nine spots spoken for and Taiwan’s Yu Chung  “Nevan” Chang bagging a commanding stack. Chang rose from just an 8 BB stack to 125 BB in three levels.

The race to the first ever Asia Pacific Poker Tour Cambodia Main Event title begins today at 1pm. The champion will claim the coveted PokerStars shard trophy and $96,028. Cards in the air at 1pm. Read up all the past action and today’s race via the Live Updates.

Player Chips BB
Yu Chung Chang 3,115,000 125
Markus Garberg 2,420,000 97
Alexander Puchalski 1,700,000 68
Akshay Kapoor 1,485,000 59
Christopher Backhouse 990,000 40
Huy Phan 565,000 23
Quoc Dinh Nguyen 530,000 21
Renniel Galvez 340,000 14
Michael Soyza 165,000 7

Among the players in the final 9 lineup is well known Malaysian pro Michael Soyza, the only player seeking a second APPT Main Event title. Out of Soyza’s long list of poker achievements, one of them is a victory at the APPT Korea 2018 Main Event. Soyza has a steep climb ahead if he plans to catch the leader, which is very manageable as we’ve seen at the series Mini High Roller rising from 6 BB to winning it.

DSC 7965
Michael Soyza

Another player to watch is Norway’s Markus Garberg who finally reached the final table after coming  close at two APPT Manila Main Event runs with a 12th place finish in 2016 and 17th place in 2018.

Remaining payouts

1st $96,028
2nd $60,884
3rd $44,005
4th $35,590
5th $28,165
6th $21,681
7th $16,137
8th $11,682
9th $9,454

Main Event Day 2 review

The Main Event opened on November 10 and after three starters it drew 378 entries to exceed the guarantee for a richer $494,991 prize pool. Day 2 sped off with 75 players and a flurry of busts that included Day 1C race leader Yu Qi Zhao’s fall on a three way with the day’s entering chip leader Nam Hyung Kim shipping it. Kim eventually became the first player to breach a million in chips.

DSC 7937
Namhyung Kim

Two rounds in, it was bubble time with Alexander Puchalski first to be at risk. which ended in a double up that kickstarted his rise to the final table. Sweden’s Sofia Lovgren also survived her shove then proceeded to clean out short stacked Guodong Shi on the bubble.


With the money intact, the remaining players raced for a final 9 seat. Soyza and Puchalksi were rising fast. Soyza delivered a double knockout that saw the end of Singapore’s Bryan Huang and Day 1B chip leader Russia’s Valeriy Pak. Chang earned his first double up with pocket Fives surviving overcards.

DSC 8019
Akshay Kapoor

Down to the final two tables with 12 remaining, India’s Akshay Kapoor stole the lead with several big pots that started with a double up off Kim with pocket Kings dominating pocket Queens. Kapoor went on to rail Zdravko Duvnjak (12th) and Lovgren (11th) who shoved on a bluff that failed.

DSC 8020
Nevan Chang

Just before the day wrapped up, Chang banked a mammoth pot with a full house against Soyza to catapult way up top. A couple of hands after, Kim shoved with Ace-Queen and lost the flip to Kapoor’s pocket Sixes. For the first time this series, Kim missed the final table.

Payouts 10th to 55th

10th Nam Hyung Kim $7,821
11th Sofia Lovgren-Fullmer $7,821
12th Zdravko Duvnjak $6,782
13th Hoa Thinh Nguyen $6,782
14th Jiazhi Zhong $5,989
15th Jean Robert Autran $5,989
16th Ido Aboudi $5,395
17th Dhanesh Chainani $5,395
18th Natalie Teh $4,900
19th Jonas Magdalinski $4,900
20th Paul Newey $4,900
21st Chhay Lem Lim $4,405
22nd Jianguo Zhou $4,405
23rd Valeriy Pak $4,405
24th Bryan Huang $3,911
25th Mohamad Abbouchi $3,911
26th Mai Bien $3,911
27th Phuong Ngoc Nguyen $3,911
28th Zhao Feng $3,416
29th Jonathan Sanborn $3,416
30th Benjamin Sai $3,416
31st Yong Chen $3,416
32nd Omair Javed $2,921
33rd Vincent Huang $2,921
34th Chik Fatt Chan $2,921
35th Brett Pullen $2,921
36th Tzai Wei Phua $2,921
37th Suparerk Totsaponisad $2,921
38th Finn Penderak $2,921
39th Oliver Schulze $2,921
40th Cao Ngoc Anh $2,425
41st Lars Madsen $2,425
42nd Masamichi Hayashi $2,425
43rd Vu Thai Bao $2,425
44th Robert Schiffbauer $2,425
45th Collin Ho $2,425
467th Renato Villanueva Jr $2,425
47th Ori Haim Elul $2,425
48th Ho Xiao Wang $2,425
49th David Erquiaga $2,425
50th Zachary Duce $2,425
51st Hamish Crawshaw $2,425
52nd Daniel Smiljkovik $2,425
53rd Florencio Campomanes $2,425
54th Keita Minami $2,425
55th Duy Tung Nguyen $2,425
Avatar photo

Tricia David

Tricia David has long experience as a recreational poker player and has been covering poker events since 2010 for numerous outfits in Asia. She spent one year working part time with Poker Portal Asia then became editor and lead writer for all event coverage of the Philippine Poker Tour (PPT). Under the PPT, she overlooked content for their website, and produced live updates on all their events. In addition, she served as the live and online events website content writer for the Asian Poker Tour. Currently, she does live events reporting in Asia for online news site Somuchpoker and is also one of their news contributors.

More Posts

Follow Me:
Special EmailTwitterFacebookFlickrYouTube