Final 9 players of the record breaking Manila Super Series Main Event

Manila Super Series
Manila Super Series – Main Event Final 9

The record breaking PokerStars LIVE Manila Super Series Main Event is just one day away from crowning its richest champion in the history of the series with the Final 9 players established. Kicking off on May 29 2024 at Okada Manila in the Philippine metropolis, the 20th edition set new heights with 1,277 entries across four Day 1 flights to generate a shattering prize pool of PHP 21,800,944 (~USD 374,560).

Manila Super Series – Main Event Day 2 recap

At Day 2, the money flowed with each of the 194 returnees guaranteed a piece of the pot. It took a lengthy thirteen hours of play to whittle down the field to one table. Among the casualties was the day’s entering chip leader Karen Talamayan whose bid for the title was denied by Taiwan’s Wang Kuan Wei.

Ronato Alcano at Manila Super Series 20
Ronato Alcano

On the opposite end of the pole is Ronato Alcano, one of four locals in the lineup. Alcano kept a steady pace throughout, even sliding into the top spot at one point, then crushed the competition during the final three tables. Alcano knocked out several players including Baek Youngseok in 10th place to signal the end of day. He bagged up the chip lead of 48 bb and is seeking his maiden Main Event title.

Bok Kihyung Kim at Manila Super Series
Bok Kihyung Kim

Trailing the leader by just 2 bb is Kihyung Kim, one of three Koreans in contention, and also seeking his maiden Main Event win. Rounding out the top three is Korean Woosang Lee with 42 bb. Lee is already guaranteed his first payout on foreign soil.

Considerably the most decorated player in the lineup is Filipino Czar Ian Marcos with a portfolio filled with cashes around Asia. Marcos is destined for a Main Event title having reached numerous final tables in his career.

Other contenders are Japan’s Kento Chogo and Argentina’s Mariano Balfagon.  Whle Chogo has made the Philippines his trophy hunting ground, for the latter Balfagon, this is his first cash in Asia.

Final 9 players

Rank Player Flag Stack BB Table Seat
1 Ronato Alcano Philippines 7,710,000 48 27 6
2 Bok Kihyung Kim Korea 7,350,000 46 27 4
3 Woosang Lee Korea 6,670,000 42 27 3
4 Kento Chogo Japan 5,750,000 36 27 8
5 Alvir Inocentes Philippines 4,055,000 25 27 1
6 Ju Won Chung Korea 2,355,000 15 27 7
7 Mariano Balfagon Argentina 1,955,000 12 27 2
8 Czar Ian Marcos Philippines 1,720,000 11 27 9
9 Anthony Gabitan Philippines 750,000 5 27 5

Coning final day, one of the nine contenders will walk away with the enormous PHP 3,670,000 (~USD 62,649) top prize. Included in the hefty cash rewards, the top two finishers will receive an APPT Manila Package worth PHP 120,000.

Remaining Payouts

Place Payout in PHP
in USD equivalent
1 ₱3,670,000 62,649
2 ₱2,320,000 39,604
3 ₱1,580,000 26,972
4 ₱1,215,000 20,741
5 ₱935,000 15,961
6 ₱715,000 12,206
7 ₱550,000 9,389
8 ₱420,000 7,170
9 ₱321,944 5,496

The race to glory kicks of at 4pm on Sunday, June 2, 2024.  Make sure to track the action via the SMP Live Updates. Just click the link provided.

Pokerstars Live Manila Super Series 20

Avatar photo

Tricia David

Tricia David has long experience as a recreational poker player and has been covering poker events since 2010 for numerous outfits in Asia. She spent one year working part time with Poker Portal Asia then became editor and lead writer for all event coverage of the Philippine Poker Tour (PPT). Under the PPT, she overlooked content for their website, and produced live updates on all their events. In addition, she served as the live and online events website content writer for the Asian Poker Tour. Currently, she does live events reporting in Asia for online news site Somuchpoker and is also one of their news contributors.

More Posts

Follow Me:
Special EmailTwitterFacebookFlickrYouTube