PS LIVE Manila Super Series 20 Main Event stands to be the biggest in tour’s history; 194 players return for Day 2


Targeted for its local audience, the 20th edition of PokerStars LIVE Manila Super Series currently running at Okada Manila, Philippines, surpassed all expectations with a record breaking Main Event remaining front and center. A total of four flights ran throughout the past three days and collectively racked up a staggering 1,277 entries, obliterating the PHP 10 Million (~USD 171,800) guarantee by a mile. 194 players out of the massive field are set to return for Day 2’s action, each locking up a share of the PHP 21,800,944 (~USD 372,525) Main Event pot.

PS LIVE Manila Super Series 20 Main Event stands to be the biggest in tour’s history

For those on a spadey hunt, a number of side events completes this Saturday’s schedule including the Double Stack, PLO, Knockout, and 15/10/5. Starting heats for both the Super Series High Roller and the PHP 2 Million (~USD 34K) guaranteed Super Series Turbo are likewise slated for the evening, allowing those who find their Main Event journey come to an end to jump in on the action.

Manila Super Series 20 – Player Guide

Manila Super Series 20 – Main Event Review

The final day of the Main Event qualifying rounds packed in the largest field altogether with a total of 475 entries recorded in the earlier Flight C, and another 244 entries added across the evening Turbo flight. International runners shared the felt with numerous new faces seen in the mix, not to mention a sizable contingent hailing from South Korea. Sensing a thirst for action considering the latest turmoil to sweep the Asian tournament scene, this season’s Main Event rose to be the tour’s biggest offering in terms of both prize money and field size.

Last September 2023 saw MSS 18’s Main Event rise to the spotlight after reaching an all-time high 1,034 entry field and a PHP 13.2 Million (~USD 226K) pot. Italy’s Paolo Boccaletti landed the top spot and banked a career best PHP 1,767,000 (~USD 31,167) following a four way deal. This time around, the record breaking MSS 20 Main Event lists a hefty PHP 3,670,000 (~USD 62,720) champion payday, along with an APPT Manila Main Event Package – seat and accommodation, valued at PHP 120,000 (~USD 2,090) for the top two finishers.

Jharome Pena
Jharome Pena

An additional 109 runners survived to Day 2 with Flight B chip leader Karen Talamayan still remaining on top across the overall chip counts. Talamayan heavily dominated the Flight B field to rack up a massive 929,000 (186 BB) stack and leave quite a gap between second in rank Jharome Pena. Pena found hope across the final turbo flight and bagged the largest by the end of the night with 603,000 (121 BB). Trailing right behind him are South Korea’s Lee Wonjae, Flight C chip leader Kang Yunku, and Yoo Eunjung, to close the top ranks.

Kang Yunku
Kang Yunku

Also joining the list from the final qualifying rounds are seasoned local runners Jonald Garcia, Czardy Rivera, and MSS 3 champion Emmanuel Segismundo. Previous Main Event winners Lester Edoc and John Dela Cruz took a stab on making another return yet missed to catch a spot by the end of the day.

Each returning player is already guaranteed a minimum payout of PHP 30,000 (~USD 510) with Day 2 action resuming on Level 16: 2,000 / 5,000 ante 5,000 at 13:00, Saturday, June 1st. 

Dates: May 29 – June 2, 2024
Buy in: PHP 20,000 (~USD 350)
Guarantee: PHP 10,000,000 (~USD 171,800)
Prize pool: PHP 21,800,944 (~USD 372,525)
Entries: 1,277 (1,011 unique)
ITM: 194 players

Flight A: 228 entries, 35 qualified
Flight B: 330 entries, 50 qualified
Flight C: 475 entries, 72 qualified
Flight D Turbo: 244 entries, 37 qualified

Day 2: Saturday, June 1
Final Day: Sunday, June 2

Top 10 Day 2 Chip Counts

Pos. Player Flag Chip Count Big Blinds
1 Karen Talamayan Philippines 929,000 186
2 Jharome Pena Philippines 603,000 121
3 Lee Wonjae Korea, South 570,000 114
4 Kang Yunku Korea, South 536,000 107
5 Yoo Eunjung Korea, South 536,000 107
6 Won Grael Australia 494,000 99
7 Hatanaka Ryoji Japan 436,000 87
8 Riva Lorenzo Italy 427,000 85
9 John Carlo Sayo Philippines 421,000 84
10 Ronato Alcano Philippines 417,000 83

For the complete list of qualifiers, head on to Somuchpoker Live Updates:

Pokerstars Live Manila Super Series 20

Avatar photo

Janette Dee

Graduated from De La Salle University, Janette works as a full time teacher in Manila, Philippines. She has long joined the local poker community as a recreational player for the last decade. Having a natural love for the game, she decided to branch out into a different avenue of poker. Currently, Janette works for Somuchpoker as a content writer reporting local and international news for the site.

More Posts - Website