Crown Perth 2020 Perth Poker Champs awards Dale Marsland as Main Event Champion

With Australia’s sunniest capital being a long-time participant in the poker community, it is no doubt a great stop for international players. The Crown Perth 2020 Perth Poker Champs series was recently concluded with Dale Marsland bagging a six figure win by taking down the Main Event. The festival was held from February 20, 2020 – March 1, 2020 at the Crown Perth resort and casino complex in Perth, Australia and boasted ten poker events within the 11-day period.

Below the recap of the 3 key events of the festival

AU$ 2,300 (~US$ 1,510) Perth Poker Champs Main Event – Winner: Dale Marsland (AU$ 101,000)

Dave Marshall
Dale Marsland wins the Main Event for AU$ 101,000 – Photo credit: Crown Perth

The Main Event played out at the tail end of the series with the last day, March 1st, being the Final Table. With a buy-in of AU$ 2,300 (~US$ 1,510), the event created a prize pool of AU$ 352,600 (~US$ 231,536). Regardless of the pool of international players, an Australian national, Dale Marsland, outlasted 172 entrants along with 46 re-entries. The top prize of AU$ 101,000 (~USD 66,322) was awarded to him with the hefty cash prize a few dollars short of his recorded biggest live cash win of US$ 66,358 back in 2013. Marsland, who was active throughout the final table, busted out the majority of the players with Nicholas Suter taking 2nd place for AU$ 65,000 (~US$ 42,682) and followed by Peter Brasile, who entered the final leader with the chip lead, for AU $47,000 (~US$ 30,862).

Playing well and running great, Australian poker professional, Dale Marsland, continues to dominate numerous series in the country. Claiming his third Main Event Title, the substantial cash prize he received will add on to his AU$ 1.18 Million (~US$ 775,914) Total Live Earnings.

The final payouts are as follows:

1st Dale Marsland AU$ 101,000 US$ 66,322
2nd Nicholas Suter AU$ 65,000 US$ 42,682
3rd Peter Brasile AU$ 47,000 US$ 30,862
4th Man Ho Tse AU$ 36,300 US$ 23,836
5th Ashley Warner AU$ 25,600 US$ 16,810
6th Shane Cassidy AU$ 17,600 US$ 11,557
7th Jon Curtis AU$ 13,200 US$ 8,667
8th Steve Burgess AU$ 9,700 US$ 6,369
9th Tanja Vujanic AU$ 7,100 US$ 4,662
10th Liron Or AU$ 7,100 US$ 4,662
11th Tim Mitchell AU$ 7,100 US$ 4,662
12th Matt Rynkiewicz AU$ 5,300 US$ 3,480
13th John Lane AU$ 5,300 US$ 3,480
14th Andrew Miller AU$ 5,300 US$ 3,480

Event 1: $600 Travis Endersby Repechage/ Accumulator – Winner: Phuc Pham (AU$ 83,160)

PHuc Pham

Phuc Pham  – Photo credit: Crown Perth

The first event of the series, Travis Endersby Repechage/ Accumulator served as a warm-up for later events with a modest buy-in of AU$ 600 (~US$ 394). With two flights for Day 1, the event welcomed 154 entrants with an additional 40 entries for a prize pool of AU$ 83,160 (~US$ 54,607).

Among the 13 top players paid, Phuc Pham, another Australian national, took down the event taking home AU$ 24,000 (~US$ 15,760). Relatively smaller than Marsland’s top prize, it was definitely a huge win for Phuc with his biggest recorded live best cash only at AU$ 693 (~US$ 455).

The final payouts are as follows:

1st Phuc Pham AU$ 24,000 US$ 15,760
2nd John Lane AU$ 15,400 US$ 10,112
3rd Marco Lee AU$ 11,000 US$ 7,223
4th Mark Smith AU$ 8,500 US$ 5,581
5th Scott Buchanan AU$ 6,050 US$ 3,972
6th Martyn Ward AU$ 4,350 US$ 2,856
7th Ryan Law AU$ 3,100 US$ 2,035
8th Peter Brasile AU$ 2,310 US$ 1,516
9th Leo Kamiya AU$ 1,850 US$ 1,214

Event 2 – $3,500 High Roller Challenge – Winner: Bjorn Ostby (AU$ 51,000)

Bjorn Ostby – Photo credit: Crown Perth

The second event of the series brought the largest buy-in for AU$ 3,500 (~US$ 2,298) attracting a total of 46 entrants with an additional 8 re-entries. It was not a surprise as the prize pool entered the six-figure scale with the top prize initially guaranteed at AU $61,000 (~US$ 40,055).

After approximately 15 hours of play, the Event 2 Champion was finally decided with Bjorn Ostby taking home the trophy. Another Australian national winner, Ostby has been spotted a few times around the country’s various poker festivals. In the past year, a whopping AU$ 180,000 (~US$ 129,366) was recorded as his best live cash as he came in 9th in the 2019 Aussie Millions Poker Championship in Melbourne, Australia.

A deal was struck during the final table with the top 6 players sharing a prize pool of AU$ 151,800 (~US$ 99,680).

Here are the final payouts:

1st Bjorn Ostby AU$ 51,000* (AU$ 61,000) US$ 33,489
2nd Travis Endersby AU$ 45,000* (AU$ 35,000) US$ 29,549
3rd Peter Brasile AU$ 23,000* (AU$ 24,000) US$ 15,103
4th Micah Martinovich AU$ 17,200* (AU$ 18,200) US$ 11,294
5th Ben Hon AU$ 12,600* (AU$ 13,600) US$ 8,273
6th Anthony Marenko AU$ 5,000* US$ 3,283

*Denotes Mutually Agreed Deal

Avatar photo

Louis Hartwell

Graduated in Media Communication at the University of Lausanne, Louis Hartman is a co-founder of He began his career in Cambodia as freelance journalist. In same time he was making his living by playing poker every night at that time. Intense learner, he read dozens of poker strategy books to improve his skills during many years. With a strong interest about poker "behind the scene" in Asia and his communication skills, Louis launched Somuchpoker in 2014.

More Posts

Follow Me:
Special EmailTwitterFacebookFlickrYouTube