Super High Roller Bowl VI: Daniel Dvoress takes the title and wins $4M; Wai Leong Chan runner up

The Super High Roller Bowl (SHRB) is one of the biggest high-stakes tournaments on the annual calendar, regularly attracting the brightest talents in the world. Its latest edition took place in the Bahamas, with Malaysia’s Wai Leong Chan almost locking up his first live title in over 8 years.

19c70353e wai leong chan super high roller bowl ata 4020
Wai Leong Chan – Photo by Poker Central

Day 1 – Bonomo takes the lead

The first day saw 43 players step forward to contest this title, with each paying $250,000 to get involved. Late registration remained open at the start of day 2, and by the time it had ended, there were 51 runners and a mouth-watering prize pool of $12,750,000 on the line. By the time the final level had ticked by, Justin Bonomo reigned at the top of the counts (1,274,000), with Steve O’Dwyer following close behind with 1,007,000. MalaysiaWai Leong Chan occupied 3rd spot with 742,000.

Day 2 – Seth Davies leads the final table

The second day was as closely fought as the first, with many illustrious names making their way to the rail. By the time the dust had settled, the final table was set and Seth Davies had bagged the biggest stack with 2,915,000. The contest remained close however, with Jason Koon (2,720,000) and Kathy Lehne (2,100,000) leading the chasing pack.

Among the notable fallers was Wai Kin Yong (9th), Stephen Chidwick (11th), Richard Yong (12th), Tony G (14th, Isaac Haxton (20th), Bryn Kenney (21st), Paul Phua (25th) and Michael Soyza (26th). The elimination of Wai Kin Yong burst the bubble, with the final 8 players all getting paid.

Daniel Dvoress defeats Leong Chan to become SHRB champion

Daniel Dvoress Wins SHRB Bahamas Super High Roller Bowl ATA0451
SHRB champion Daniel Dvoress – Photo by Poker Central

The final day began with the elimination of two-time SHRB champion Justin Bonomo in 8th place. Jason Koon and Seth Davies quickly found reverse gear at the final table, going from chip leaders to dejected railbirds in the early levels. Steve O’Dwyer also had a day to forget, falling away in 6th place, while Erik Seidel could only manage 4th.

Kathy Lehne took a creditable 3rd, but it was left to Dvoress and Leong Chan to duel for the top prize. Dvoress went into the final phase with a near 2 to 1 chip advantage, while Leong Chan will have simply been thankful to be there after surviving an all in with 9% equity before outdrawing Lehne’s pocket aces with pocket sixes to bust her in 3rd.

If Leong Chan had been thinking this was going to be one of those days where fate was on his side, Dvoress quickly showed that he had other ideas. The Canadian pro extended his lead and wore his opponent down over an hour and a half of heads up play before getting his opponent to commit with Jx 7x. Dvoress flipped over Ad 9d, and his hand duly held to give him his first major live title and over $4 million in prize money.

Meanwhile, Leong Chan vaulted up to 4th on Malaysia’s all-time money list with his 2nd place finish.

The final payouts are as follows:
1st – Daniel Dvoress (Canada) – $4,080,000
2nd – Wai Leong Chan (Malaysia) – $2,677,500
3rd – Kathy Lehne (U.S.A.) – $1,785,000
4th – Erik Seidel (U.S.A.) – $1,275,000
5th – Seth Davies (U.S.A.) – $1,020,000
6th – Steve O’Dwyer (Ireland) – $765,000
7th – Jason Koon (U.S.A.) – $637,500
8th – Justin Bonomo (U.S.A.) – $510,000

Article by Craig Bradshaw