Manila Super Series pays out PHP 19.8M (~$377K); Chierro De Leon wins Super Series Turbo, Yukiko Fujiki draws biggest bounty; up next APPT Manila Qualifier and Warm Up

Screenshot 2023 06 05 192032

Another fun edition of PokerStars LIVE Manila Super Series has concluded at Okada Manila in the Philippines. Taking place over nine days, the 17th edition ran from May 27 to June 4, 2023. Players competed for a total prize pool of PHP 21,125,730 (~US$ 377K) and the seven coveted PS spade trophies.

DJ704804 Enhanced NR

The festival headliner Main Event was a massive success pulling in 746 entries for a record PHP 9,551,784 (~US$ 170,918) prize pool. Local circuit regular William Ysmael was crowned as champion. Read up on his victory via the link provided.

William Ysmael wins the Main Event

52950576140 dc312b4b23 c

Among the other highlights were Chierro De Leon winning the Super Series Turbo and Japan’s Yukiko Fujiki drawing the largest Mystery Bounty reward. Check out the results below. Relive some of the thrilling moments via the Main Event live updates and via the lens of SMP.


The 17th MSS was a huge success for PokerStars LIVE Manila, which continues to offer exciting and affordable tournaments for poker enthusiasts in the region. Up next for the brand is the APPT Manila Package Qualifier which runs from June 22 to 25 featuring over PHP 2 Million in guarantees followed by the APPT Warm Up from July 2 to 9 featuring over PHP 6 Million in guarantees. The Main Event brings in half the load with PHP 3 Million guaranteed. Check the link provided for all the details.

Final Side Events recap

Chierro De Leon takes down the Super Series Turbo

DJ704831 Enhanced NR
Chierro De Leon

Running simultaneously with the Main Event was the Super Series Turbo which drew a strong field of 626 entries over four flights. The final three players struck an ICM deal then Filipino Chierro De Leon went on to claim the win for his career second PokerStars spade trophy and a payout of PHP 276,800.

Buy in: PHP 3,500 (~US$ 63)
Guarantee: PHP 1,000,000 (~US$ 17,850)
Entries: 626
Prize pool: PHP 1,870,238 (~US$ 33,385)
ITM: 95 places

*Final 3 ICM deal

Rank Player Flag Payouts in PHP
1 Chierro De Leon Philippines ₱276,800*
2 Yee Shun Jian Singapore ₱235,900*
3 Keith Basso USA ₱213,800*
4 June Nuestro Philippines ₱122,000
5 Jose Ramon Ramos Philippines ₱97,000
6 Wo Kui Lam Hong Kong ₱76,000
7 Jose Cheung Philippines ₱56,000
8 Jeffrey Pardales Philippines ₱38,238
9 Jesus Rivera Philippines ₱30,000

Taiwan’s Liao Pin Hung wins the Super Knockout

Liao Pin Hung
Taiwan’s Liao Pin Hung was the first international player to win a title at the series. He bested a field of 125 runners at the Super Knockout event. Leading up to the win, Liao eliminated Ofer Greenberg (6th) then delivered a double knockout to Teck Heng Chua (4th) and Rahul Chinchalkar (5th) with Jd10h improving to a flush on a board 9hJh3h5h3s to oust QdQs and KsJc. After William Jones railed Jharome Pena in 3rd place, Liao went on to defeat Jones for the title with QcQd standing firm against As6c on a final board {Kd}5d5s9cJs.

Buy in: PHP 20,000 (~US$ 357)
Entries: 125 (101 unique, 24 re-entry)
Prize pool: PHP 3,432,500 (~US$ 61,275)
ITM: 17 places

*Payouts do not include bounties

Rank Player Flag Payouts in PHP
1 Liao Pin Hung Taiwan ₱234,000
2 William Jones Usa ₱158,500
3 Jharome Pena Philippines ₱103,000
4 Teck Heng Chua Singapore ₱85,500
5 Rahul Chinchalkar India ₱69,000
6 Ofer Greenberg USA ₱54,500
7 Manabu Onda Japan ₱41,500
8 Ediberto Gopez Philippines ₱31,000
9 Nomoto Kenjiro Japan ₱23,500

Yukiko Fujiki draws the largest Mystery Bounty

Yukiko Fujiki 2

Buy in: PHP 6,500 (~US$ 116)
Guarantee: PHP 500,000 (~US$ 8,925)
Entries: 307
Prize pool: PHP 2,163,859 (~US$ 38,630)
ITM: 47 places

The last event to complete was the Mystery Bounty with 47 out of the 307 entries earning a piece of the PHP 2,163,859 prize pool. Japan’s Yukiko Fujiki fell in 9th place to eventual champion Hernan Villa however she was still the envy of all for pulling the largest bounty reward of PHP 89,000. The event concluded on a four-way deal with Villa crowned champion.

Ofer Greenberg wins Hyper Turbo Freezeout

DJ704861 Enhanced NR
Ofer Greenberg

At heads up of the Hyper Turbo Freezeout, USA’s Ofer Greenberg grinded down Filipino Christian Relucio to capture the win and the PHP 78,500 (~US$ 1,400) to prize. This was another good finish for Greenberg who placed 6th at the Super Knockout.

Avatar photo

Tricia David

Tricia David has long experience as a recreational poker player and has been covering poker events since 2010 for numerous outfits in Asia. She spent one year working part time with Poker Portal Asia then became editor and lead writer for all event coverage of the Philippine Poker Tour (PPT). Under the PPT, she overlooked content for their website, and produced live updates on all their events. In addition, she served as the live and online events website content writer for the Asian Poker Tour. Currently, she does live events reporting in Asia for online news site Somuchpoker and is also one of their news contributors.

More Posts

Follow Me:
Special EmailTwitterFacebookFlickrYouTube