Philippines’ Monziar Villariaza leads the charge for Day 2 of the Manila Megastack 17 Main Event 


A step closer to crowning a champion, PokerStars LIVE’s Manila Megastack 17 Main Event played down its last flight yesterday, December 9th to wrap up its qualifying rounds. Combining all three flights puts this season’s total record up to a staggering 870 entries for a record-breaking PHP 26,582,850 (~USD 480,080) prize pool. This serves to be the festival’s biggest turnout throughout the past 17 editions with the eventual champion slated to take home PHP 5,005,000 (~USD 90,300) in winnings. Only 132 runners return to the felt today with the Day 2 games set to play down to the final table.

Manila Megastack – Coverage
Manila Megastack – Festival Results
Manila Megastack – Schedule

Main Event action resumes on Level 14: 1,500 – 3,000 ante 30,000 at 13:00, December 10th. Running alongside are side events: Mini Main Event, High Roller, Win The Button, Hyper Turbo Knockout, and Super Hyper Turbo.

Main Event Flight C Recap

Monziar Villariaza

Considering the PHP PHP 10,000,000 (~USD 180,830) was already breached the day prior, an even stronger turnout was seen on the felt for Flight C. A total of 468 entries filled the room and were recorded across ten levels of registration, sending forth 71 players through to Day 2. It took over 12 hours of play before the field drew to its final 15% led by Philippines’ Monziar Villariaza. Villariaza delivered the bubble, eliminating Phenix Oesterstroem one spot short of the money in a blind vs blind battle. Oesterstroem pushed his remaining 7.5 BB with AcKh and was called by Villariaza with his favorite 8s9s. Villariaza outran his opponent and claimed the chip lead following the bust to bring in a massive 527,500 (176 BB) into Day 2.


Joining Villariaza amongst the top ranking chip counts are Flight C qualifiers Jose Drilon, Jessie Supnet and Jharome Pena who fill in the top four spots across the penultimate order. Supnet claimed a massive boost after fast tracking the flight right to bubble time and knocking two opponents with AsAc for a 440,000 pot. Flight B chip leader Rick Jason Ambata ranks just below at 5th with 428,000 (143 BB) accompanied by Flight A chip leader Shah Chirag in 8th with 402,000 (134 BB). All Day 2 survivors are now guaranteed a minimum payout of PHP 53,000 (~USD 950) with play concluding once the final table is set.

Date: December 7 – 11, 2023
Buy-in: PHP 35,000 (~USD 630)
Guarantee: PHP 10,000,000 (~USD 180,830)
Prize pool: PHP 26,582,850 (~USD 480,080)
Entries: 870
ITM: 133 players

Flight A: 167 entries, 26 qualified
Flight B: 235 entries, 36 qualified
Flight C: 468 entries, 71 qualified

Day 2: December 10, Sunday
Final Day: December 11, Monday

Top Chip Counts

Pos. Player Flag Chip Count Big Blinds
1 Villariaza Monziar Philippines 527,500 176
2 Drilon Jose Philippines 520,500 174
3 Supnet Jessie Philippines 507,500 169
4 Pena Jharome Philippines 506,500 169
5 Ambata Rick Jason Philippines 428,000 143
6 Cruz Alexis Philippines 418,000 139
7 Kengo Kumagai Japan 410,500 137
8 Shah Chirag India 402,000 134
9 Carreon Jayvon Philippines 396,000 132
10 Angeles Rommel Philippines 395,500 132

Final Table Payouts

Place Prize (PHP)
1 5,005,000 
2 2,985,000
3 2,090,000 
4 1,570,000 
5 1,220,000 
6 ₱ 905,000
7 648,000 
8 461,850 
9 ₱ 365,000

Avatar photo

Janette Dee

Graduated from De La Salle University, Janette works as a full time teacher in Manila, Philippines. She has long joined the local poker community as a recreational player for the last decade. Having a natural love for the game, she decided to branch out into a different avenue of poker. Currently, Janette works for Somuchpoker as a content writer reporting local and international news for the site.

More Posts - Website