Locals dominate Manila Super Series 11: Alexis Lim wins the Main Event; Kim Enriquez wins the opener

From July 2 to 7, PokerStars LIVE Manila ran the 11th edition of the Manila Super Series at their hub in Okada Manila. The Main Event drew a strong field of 622 entries to more than double the advertised 3M guarantee. 94 players dipped into the Php 6,371,270 (~US$ 124,600) prize pool with Filipino player Alexis Lim pocketing the largest of Php 1,066,000 (~USD 20,900) for his victory.

Alexis Lim
Alexis Lim – Photo PokerStars Live

Alexis “Shoti” Lim captured his first ever PokerStars Main Event title defeating fellow countryman Rick Ambata at heads up.

Final 10 payouts

1st Alexis Lim – Philippines – Php 1,066,000
2nd Rick Ambata – Philippines – Php 900,000
3rd Seong Ryun Lee – Korea – Php 536,500
4th Ricardo Torres – Philippines – Php 411,000
5th Arvin Tamilsilvan – Singapore – Php 325,500
6th Thomas Lee – Canada – Php 253,500
7th Shojiro Izutsu – Japan – Php 185,000
8th Ryutaro Yamamoto – Japan – Php 126,500
9th William Ysmael – Philippines – Php 101,770
10th Joel Copiozo – Philippines – Php 81,500

Among the players in the money but outside of the final table were: Terry Gonzaga (19th), Michael De Leon (34th), Yuka Asaka (35th), and Joseph Sia (58th).

Kim Michael Enriquez wins the Warm Up

Excluding the Main Event, there were twelve events for players to also try and win a PokerStars trophy. The Warm Up event had the second largest turnout with 397 entries at Php 6,000 (~US$ 120) each. This event also doubled up the guarantee to settle at Php 2,033,275 (~US$ 39,800). Winning it was Filipino player Kim Michael Enriquez after a deal was struck between him and runner-up Oliver Rambeau.

Warm Up Final table
Warm Up Final table – Photo PokerStars Live

Final 10 payouts

1st Kim Michael Enriquez – Philippines – Php 341,500 (deal made)
2nd Olivier Rambeau – France – Php 300,000
3rd Ryan Malangen – Philippines – Php 178,000
4th Joseph Sia – Philippines – Php 141,500
5th Gregory Lahmdorff – USA – Php 111,000
6th Yuka Asaka – Japan – Php 87,000
7th Michael De Leon – Philippines – Php 65,500
8th Roozbeh Namvar – iran – Php 46,500
9th William Ysmael – Philippines – Php 37,275
10th Pal Grubits – Hungary – Php 31,000

Despite runner-up Rambeau missing the title by one spot, he was still able to capture his first PokerStars trophy by winning the series Php 6,000 buy-in No Limit Hold’em Super Stack Freezeout. He outlasted the 66 player field to add Php 98,500 to his winnings.

APPT Manila up next

Next up for PokerStars LIVE Manila is the highly popular Asia Pacific Poker Tour. Year after year the Manila leg sees a tremendous increase in numbers with players from all over the globe in attendance. APPT Manila runs from July 26 to August 4. The festival features a Php 20,000,000 (~US$ 389,000) guaranteed Main Event. Buy-in is Php 65,000 (~USD 1,270). Other events on deck include the APPT National – Php 5 Million guaranteed and APPT Kickoff – Php 3 Million guaranteed.

More: APPT Manila 2019 – Official Schedule

Article by Tricia David

Avatar photo

Louis Hartwell

Graduated in Media Communication at the University of Lausanne, Louis Hartman is a co-founder of He began his career in Cambodia as freelance journalist. In same time he was making his living by playing poker every night at that time. Intense learner, he read dozens of poker strategy books to improve his skills during many years. With a strong interest about poker "behind the scene" in Asia and his communication skills, Louis launched Somuchpoker in 2014.

More Posts

Follow Me:
Special EmailTwitterFacebookFlickrYouTube