IFM Asian Nations Cup: Team Singapore finishes 4th, qualifying for Peru

The International Federation of Match Poker (IFMP) Asian Nations Cup hosted in Taiwan has come to a conclusion last weekend.

Match Poker is a tournament format that is played in teams. Team members are playing individually at different tables. Each player receives digital cards, identical to those of their team members and begins with equal chips. Teams are being awarded points after every hand based on the combined chip counts of their team members.

After a predetermined number of hands, the contest is over and the highest scoring team wins.

A total of nine teams competed in the competition and the top five have now qualified for the World Championship in Lima, Peru next month.

Lim Yohwan from Team Korea was crowned the “Player of the Tournament” title, but the big winners of the event are Team India. 

India is the latest Asian Nations Cup champion

Team India

Leading the way with amazing teamwork and impressive strategic planning throughout all the days of the competition, Team India proved to be deserving champions.

President of the Indian Federation, Varun Goenka, said the victory was a dream come true, “All credit goes to the players and captain Gaurav Gala for doing something absolutely monumental for poker in India. […] They have made history and are now fully focused on doing their best and representing India with pride at the Nations Cup Final in Peru next month. I couldn’t be more proud.”

Korea, Israel, the Philippines, Hong Kong and Japan made up the bottom five teams while India, Taiwan, Australia, and Singapore sponsored by BetVision landed in the top four spots, making it all directly to the Finals in Lima.

Korea ended up securing an extra spot in the Nations Cup Finals in Peru after winning the Asian Nations Plate after a tough fight with Israel!

Team Singapore qualified for Peru

Team Singapore Sponsored by BetVision
Team Singapore

With the full support of BetVision as the main sponsor for Team Singapore in the Asian Nations Cup 2019, the team ended the tournament in the Top 4, which qualified them directly for the World Championship in Peru this December.

Team Singapore is a favourite with some very talented players such as Manila Megastack side event winner Phua Tzai Wei as the captain. The rest of the team is made up of Manila Megastack Main Event winner Lisa Tan Meiling, Fong Xi Yuan, Brandon Gerard Tan, Desmond Oh, vice-captain Daniel Chua, Singapore Poker Championship Series Triple Crown winner Lim Min Soon, Freddy Kwek and one of Singapore’s greatest talents, Ivan Tan.

Next? Peru!

The five winning teams from the Asian Nations Cup will join Team Spain, Ireland, Ukraine, Poland, Belarus, Germany, and Lithuania, who had advanced from the European Nations Cup, held September this year. Although 4th place is a respectable result, team Singapore is hoping to improve their strategies and plan for a stronger finish.

Christin Maschmann