Filipino pro Mike Takayama wins his second APT Main Event title

The currently ongoing APT Championships Philippines 2017 at Resorts World Manila recently concluded one of its highlight events, the USD 1,100 buy-in Main Event with Filipino poker pro Mike Takayama capturing his second APT championship title and the US$105,530 cash prize.


Mike Takayama – Photo APT

The Main Event drew in a record breaking 442 entries with players and pros from all over the world in attendance. For local pro Takayama, he was hidden in the mix until he reached the Final 8 running second in chips to Japan’s Yasuyuki Asakura. At the table as well was another highly decorated pro, Korea’s SJ Kim who was also gunning for his second APT championship title.

In the early rounds of the Final 8, the table was dominated by the chip leader Yasuyuki. It wasn’t until it trimmed down to four players did Takayama start his quiet ascent. He eliminated fellow countryman Noel Araniel then entered the heads up round against Singaporean Keith Seah who eliminated Yasuyuki.

Although Takayama kicked off the round on a chip deficit, this mattered little. As a seasoned pro, he knew when to take chances having been in many heads up battles throughout his career. He claimed several sizable pots, both with winning trips, to overtake Seah. His lead widened further until he finally shut the door on Seah with ace-king outdrawing pocket sixes.

Heads_UP__1493884451_23180 (1)

Mike Takayama and Yasuyuki Asakura – Photo APT

In looking back at Takayama’s achievements, he has consistently done well at APT events and has run deep in quite a number of their Main Events. In September 2014, his efforts paid off, winning the APT Asian Poker Series Manila for what was then his largest ever live score of US$79,041. Last year, he recorded 25 cashes, which included a 4th place finish at the APPT Manila Main Event. Due to this, he topped the country’s GPI rankings.

This latest victory was a huge one for Takayama who earned his first ever six-digit score. He also surpassed Lester Edoc in the Philippines All Time Money List, moving up to the fifth rank. By the rate of his success, we may just see him climb even higher by the end of the year.

Final 8 payouts
1st Mike Takayama – US$105,530
2nd Keith Seah – US$60,020
3rd Yasuyuki Asakura – US$40,300
4th Noel Araniel – US$28,300
5th Kosaku Akashi – US$22,720
6th SJ Kim – US$18,010
7th Anton Del Rosario – US$14,150
8th Jun Te – US$11,150

Article by Triccia David

Avatar photo

Tricia David

Tricia David has long experience as a recreational poker player and has been covering poker events since 2010 for numerous outfits in Asia. She spent one year working part time with Poker Portal Asia then became editor and lead writer for all event coverage of the Philippine Poker Tour (PPT). Under the PPT, she overlooked content for their website, and produced live updates on all their events. In addition, she served as the live and online events website content writer for the Asian Poker Tour. Currently, she does live events reporting in Asia for online news site Somuchpoker and is also one of their news contributors.

More Posts

Follow Me:
Special EmailTwitterFacebookFlickrYouTube