Michael Addamo Wins Bracelet for Australia in $2,620 ‘The Marathon’ Event

After more than two weeks of events at the WSOP, Australia now has a 2018 champion. Michael Addamo triumphed over a field of 1,637 players, winning $653,581 and a gold bracelet for his efforts, which is the first of his career. It is by no means his first big cash however, as he already has over $1.3 million in live cashes. This win follows on from a very solid start to the year for Addamo, who picked up $155,000 for a 2nd place at the Aussie Millions Opening event back in January.

Michael Addamo 2018 World Series of Poker EV24 DAY05 DSC 7272
Michael Addamo

Other career highlights for Addamo include winning $196,000 at the PokerStars Championship Macau series last spring, a 3rd place at the WSOP back in 2016 and a SCOOP title in the $700 Holdem event during the same year. He picked up over $142,000 for that accomplishment while playing under his online name ‘Imluckbox’. He joins the elite club of the Australian players who have won a bracelet, and he will be hoping to go on to join Mel Judah this summer who have already claimed two of them. With around half of the series still to play, there will be plenty of opportunities.

Hong Kong’s Andy Ying Kit Chan finishes 6th

Hong Kong’s Andy Ying Kit Chan also had a great event, finishing 6th place in The Marathon for $115,244. Ying Chan is no stranger to big scores having kick started his career back in 2012 by finishing 2nd at the ACOP Main Event, and more recently, having taken home $88,969 for winning an event in Macau.

Both he, and Michael Addamo faced strong competition at the final table of The Marathon, with former Main Event champion Martin Jacobson finishing 5th and Germany’s Anton Morgenstern taking 7th.

The final payouts for the event are as follows:

1st – Michael Addamo – $653,581
2nd – Mark Sleet – $403,870
3rd – Bart Lybaert – $290,315
4th – Taylor Paur – $210,995
5th – Martin Jacobson – $155,062
6th – Ying Chan – $115,244
7th – Anton Morgenstern – $86,631
8th – Cate Hall – $65,875
9th – Ihar Soika – $50,678

Article by Craig Bradshaw