62 out of 176 players survive PPWC Main Event Day 1C; Gabriel Carter and Martin Gonzales among the leaders

The last starting day of the PPPoker World Championship – Main Event – produced the largest turnout of 176 players. As expected, many well known figures in the Asian circuit and international players in the region came out with the jaw-dropping PHP 20 Million (US$382,000) guarantee giving them every reason to attend.

overview cropped
PPWC – Field

After a grueling 10 hours at the felt, 62 survived. Among them were Victor Chong, WSOP champion Mike Takayama, Markus Garberg, Henrik Tollefsen, and Dhanesh Chainani. Closing the day at the top was Russia’s Denis Cheremisin with 209,300 in chips.

day 1 c leader
PPWC – Denis Cheremisin

At the end of Level 7, Cheremisin cracked Sajal Gopta‘s AdAh with Ac10d when the board ran KcQcJhJsKh. After that boost in chips, he was moved to a new table where he continued to rake it in, winning multiple pots and commanding the action.

Bagging up the second largest of Day 1C was UK’s Gabriel Carter with 205,000. Although we didn’t see how his stack fattened up, we did catch him double up with Ks10h on a board 3s2s10dAd5d.

IMG 2302
PPWC – Martin Gonzales

These were the only two players to cross the 200k marker today. To round out the top five were: Filipino player Angel Kabigting with 192,400, Martin Gonzales with 187,900, and Simon Burns with 182,700.

Day 1C chip counts

No. Name  Chip Count   Nationality 
1 Denis Cheremisin 209,300 Russia
2 Gabriel Dominic Carter 205,000 U.K
3 Angel Jao Kabigting 192,400 Philippine
4 Gonzales Rundulf Martin 187,900 Philippine
5 Burns Simon Mark 182,700 U.K
6 Ho Duy Manh 181,200 USA
7 Fidel J Castro 145,900 Philippine
8 Wendell Davis Garcia 141,600 Philippine
9 Xiong Cheng 136,800 USA
10 Rodgie Panes Panila 136,500 Philippine
11 Ong Dingxiang 131,600 Singapore
12 James Bonanno 130,400 Guam
13 Yuka Asaka 119,000 Japan
14 Wang Chun 115,400 Taiwan
15 Sutipong Popitukkul 114,400 Thailand
16 Kenneth Anzano 114,300 Philippine
17 Terry Alindada Gonzaga 113,400 Philippine
18 Victor Chong 109,600 Malaysia
19 Mike  Takayama 108,500 Philippine
20 Mangaliman Benjamin Cortez 105,400 Philippine
21 Seo Dongkyoon 102,100 Korea
22 Lubas Gerardo 102,000 Philippine
23 Sin Aun 100,300 Korea
24 Rivera Euryd Rizini Canlas 99,700 Philippine
25 Garberg Markus 88,700 Norway
26 Metasit Pratipsangkom 87,900 Thailand
27 Kim Michael Ybanez Enriquez 79,400 Philippine
28 Mark Jerick Soriano Almusajin 79,100 Philippine
29 Lu Zheng Hao 78,900 Singapore
30 Nguyen Albert 70,300 Canada
31 Frederic Fauchereau 69,200 France
32 Rebel Villamor Magdagasang 68,800 Philippine
33 Phuwadon Chuthanuwong 68,300 Thailand
34 Marzan.Edison Bondoc 67,800 Philippine
35 Henrik Tollefsen 65,100 Norway
36 Tan Kean Wei 64,400 Malaysia
37 Carlo Rey Tejano Calingasan 64,400 Philippine
38 Sergey Garin 64,000 Russia
39 Ko Isayama 55,300 Japan
40 Rogelio Becoy Paca 54,600 Philippine
41 Kwok Luen Hei 52,200 Hong Kong
42 Lee Junho 49,500 Korea
43 Rishab Jain 48,300 India
44 Gandyvelez Sapsal 47,300 Philippine
45 Bartolome Joseph C Carbonell 47,100 Philippine
46 John Carlo Abunda Sayo 46,000 Philippine
47 Jeffrey Tan Pamplona 45,600 Philippine
48 Teh Kah Boon 45,100 Malaysia
49 Christopher Copones Chua 44,300 Philippine
50 Francis Bender Villamar 43,700 Philippine
51 Alexis Lim 40,400 Philippine
52 Marvin Harry Salinas Pasion 39,900 Philippine
53 Chang Jae 39,900 Korea
54 Tran Thanh Dat 39,400 Vietnam
55 Clement Guilleminot 38,500 France
56 Ellezer Jose Castillo 36,300 Philippine
57 Martin Carcido Corpuz 36,100 Philippine
58 Olivier Fredric Duran 32,000 France
59 Yoon Jisu 31,700 Korea
60 Natanael Oliveira Silva 28,700 Brazil
61 Chainani Dhanesh Vijaykumar 27,300 Singapore
62 Santos Zedrick Lopez 21,000 Philippine

You can read up on the action via our live coverage.

PPWC Main Event – Live Updates

All of these players merge with the combined qualifiers from Day 1A (22 players) and Day 1B (46 players). Returning to action are 130 players. Day 2 takes place on Tuesday, February 20 at 12pm.

Day 2 Seat Draw

Day 1C eliminations

Many players failed to advance to the next stage of the race. They will not see any part of the massive guarantee. Among them were Vietnamese players Linh Tran, Le Ngoc Khanh, Pham Bao, and Cao Ngoc Anh. Other players eliminated were Marc Rivera, Pete Chen, Julian Hasse, Stephen Schumacher, Lim Yohwan, Jae Wook Shin, Sumit Sapra, and Marvin Rettenmaier.

More: PPPWC Full Coverage

Article by Tricia David


Tricia David

Tricia David has long experience as a recreational poker player and has been covering poker events since 2010 for numerous outfits in Asia. She spent one year working part time with Poker Portal Asia then became editor and lead writer for all event coverage of the Philippine Poker Tour (PPT). Under the PPT, she overlooked content for their website, and produced live updates on all their events. In addition, she served as the live and online events website content writer for the Asian Poker Tour. Currently, she does live events reporting in Asia for online news site Somuchpoker and is also one of their news contributors.

More Posts

Follow Me:
Special EmailTwitterFacebookFlickrYouTube